top of page

Race for the Cure


Susan B. Komen is a non-profit organization dedicated to saving lives and ending breast cancer forever. Their mission is to save lives and end breast cancer. They do this through education, support research, advocating for better breast cancer policies, and through the empowerment of others!

In partnership with Ohio University’s School of Nursing, Susan G. Komen's Race for the Cure came to Athens, Ohio for the very first time this year on October 25,2015. The event took place in the Walter Fieldhouse. Athens Race for the Cure was not just a time to come together to raise funds to research cures for breast cancer, but also to celebrate and support all breast cancer survivors and victims, and their families.

A few girls, Elizabeth Witzgall (Junior), Lindsey Gould (Sophomore), Tayler Reid (Junior), and Nicole Manzo (Junior), from Fashion Associates participated in Race for the Cure, along with many others. One of the girls, Lindsey Gould, had a few things to say about her experience:

“I have always wanted to do the race but I never had time to. But since it was right here on campus I was

able to participate. I was really motivated to walk the 5k this year because my great aunt is a survivor of

breast cancer and I wanted to support her. I was so happy to get a few girls from Fashion Associates to

walk with me! I had a great time and can't wait to do it again in the upcoming years.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page